Our Structure

Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) were created following the Health and Social Care Act in 2012, and replaced Primary Care Trusts on 1 April 2013. CCGs are clinically-led statutory NHS bodies responsible for the planning and commissioning of health care services for their local area.

Our Organisational Structure

Our team staffing structure consists of a Chief Officer with 3 directly-reporting Chiefs of Service and an Associate Director:

  • Chief Finance Officer
  • Chief Nurse
  • Director of Strategy & Delivery
  • Associate Director of Human Resources & Corporate Services

Click here to see our latest organisational structure.

Click here to download our meeting structure.

Where we fit within the NHS

CCG’s are responsible for about 60% of the NHS budget and commission most secondary care services such as:

CCGs can commission any service provider that meets NHS standards and costs. These can be NHS hospitals, social enterprises, charities or private sector providers. However, they must be assured of the quality of services they commission, taking into account both National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) guidelines and the Care Quality Commission’s (CQC) data about service providers.

Screen Shot 2015-07-07 at 11.20.41